Daily Update: Friday, October 14th, 2016

Callistus I

Today is the Optional Memorial of Saint Callistus I, Pope and Martyr (died c. 222).

Callistus was born a slave; his master, a Christian in the household of Caesar, entrusted a large sum to Callistus to open a bank. He took in several deposits, made several loans to people who refused to pay them back, and went broke. Knowing he would be personally blamed and punished for the failure of the bank, Callistus fled, but was caught and returned to his owner. Several depositors begged for his life, believing he had not lost the money, but had stolen and hid it. He was sentenced to work the tin mines; by a quirk of Roman law, the ownership of Callistus was transferred from his master to the state, and when he was later ransomed out of his sentence with a number of other Christians, he became a free man. Pope Saint Zephyrinus put Callistus in charge of the Roman public burial grounds, today still called the Cemetery of Saint Callistus. He became the Sixteenth Pope about 218. Most of what we know about him has come down to us from his critics, including an anti-Pope of the day. He was on more than one occasion accused of heresy for such actions as permitting a return to Communion for sinners who had repented and done penance, or for proclaiming that differences in economic class were no barrier to marriage. This last put him in conflict with Roman civil law, but he stated that in matters concerning the Church and the sacraments, Church law trumped civil law. In both cases he taught what the Church has taught for centuries, including today, and though a whole host of schismatics wrote against him, his crime seems to have been to practice orthodox Christianity. The 4th-century basilica of Ss Callixti et Iuliani was rebuilt in the 12th century by Pope Innocent II and rededicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary. The 8th-century Chiesa di San Callisto is close by, with its beginnings apparently as a shrine on the site of his martyrdom, which is attested in the 4th-century Depositio martyrum and so is likely to be historical. It is possible that Callistus was martyred around 222, perhaps during a popular uprising, but the legend that he was thrown down a well has no historical foundation, though the church does contain an ancient well. He is the Patron Saint of cemetery directors and workers.

Upon waking up to get ready for work, I did my Book Devotional Reading. I found that my new red Dealer Shirt, which is XL long (but a different style than my other shirts) was uncomfortably tight; I will take the shirt to Uniforms on Monday, and see if they have a red dealer shirt in the same style as my other shirts. I brought in the flag (which I put out on Wednesday for Columbus Day, and kept out yesterday for the Navy Birthday), and brought the extra copy of Murder in the Bayou: Who Killed the Women Known as the Jeff Davis 8? by Ethan Brown to work. On our way to work I did my Internet Devotional Reading. Once at work I put the copy of the book in Deborah’s locker. At about 2:30 am Richard and I talked to our Shift Manager, and told him what had happened on Monday regarding our vacation; he took down the dates of the three days (November 20th through November 22nd) that the Scheduling Office had denied, and told us not to worry about it. When we clocked in, Richard was at first on Three Card Blackjack; when that table closed, he was at several other tables momentarily before ending up on Mississippi Stud for the rest of the day. I was on Pai Gow Poker, and was dead from about 7:30 am on (and not too busy before that). On my breaks I continued reading A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay.

On our way home from work I continued reading until I reached the point where I had planned to stop. We stopped at Wal-Mart, where Richard got groceries. Once home I ate my lunch salad and read the morning paper. Richard went to bed at 1:45 pm, and I will finish today’s Daily Update, read another chapter or two in First Among Sequels by Jasper Fforde, and go to bed myself

Tomorrow is the Memorial of Saint Teresa of Ávila, Virgin and Doctor (died 1582). Tomorrow is Pregnancy Loss and Remembrance Day, and because tomorrow is the Third Saturday in October, tomorrow is Bridge Day at the New River Gorge Bridge near Fayetteville, West Virginia. We will work our eight hours, and I will continue reading A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay on my breaks. After lunch I will go to the Adoration Chapel to do my Weekly Hour of Eucharistic Adoration. When I come home I will go to bed for a few hours; when I wake up I will do my Daily Update, then at 6:30 pm Richard and I will watch our LSU Tigers play a home College Football game with Southern Mississippi. And the Full Moon will arrive at 11:25 pm.

Our Parting Quote this Friday afternoon comes to us from Elizabeth Peña, Cuban-American actress. Born in 1959 in Elizabeth, New Jersey, her father was Mario Peña, an actor, director, and writer who co-founded the Latin American Theatre Ensemble, and her mother was Estella Margarita (Toirac) Peña, an arts administrator and producer. The family moved to Cuba, and at age eight Peña and her family moved to New York City. In 1975 she was a founding member of the Hispanic Organization of Latin Actors. In 1977, she graduated from New York’s High School of Performing Arts. Her classmates were Ving Rhames and Esai Morales. In 1979 Peña made her film debut in El Super, described as a “moving and melancholy comedy about a family of lower middle class Cuban refugees attempting to adjust to life in Spanish Harlem”. She worked once again with director Leon Ichaso in his next feature, Crossover Dreams (1985). Peña was also noted for having starred in I Married Dora, a sitcom in 1987, as Dora Calderon, the title character. She also starred in John Sayles’ produced critically acclaimed but short-lived television series Shannon’s Deal (1989–1991). She appeared in films such as La Bamba, Down and Out in Beverly Hills, Jacob’s Ladder,*batteries not included, Vibes, and Rush Hour. In 2002 she starred in Showtime’s Resurrection Blvd. as Tia Bibi Corrades in the episode “Justicia”, which she also directed. In 2003, she appeared in and directed “It Was Fun While It Lasted”, an episode of The Brothers Garcia. Peña also voiced Mirage in Pixar’s animated film The Incredibles. She guest starred in the 18th episode of season 2 of Numb3rs as Sonya Benavides, and in season 4 of Modern Family as Pilar, the Colombian mother of Gloria Pritchett. Although she spoke Spanish, she did not dub her own voice for Spanish releases. In 1996 Sayles wrote and directed the mystery film Lone Star and again cast her in a co-starring role, for which she won the 1996 Independent Spirit Award for Best Supporting Actress and a Bravo Award for Outstanding Actress in a Feature Film from the National Council of La Raza. Her last film work was in the 2015 film Ana Maria in Novela Land (died 2014): “There are a lot of jobs I’ve turned down because they wanted me to play what I call “Miss Cuchifrito” types.”

Categories: Daily Updates | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

