Daily Archives: August 7, 2017

Daily Update: Monday, August 7th, 2017

Sixtus II and Cajetan and 08-07 - Midpoint of Summer and Lunar Eclipse

Today is the Optional Memorial of Saint Sixtus II, Pope and Martyr, and Companions, Martyrs (died 258) and the Optional Memorial of Saint Cajetan, Priest (died 1547). This day also marks the approximate midpoint of summer in the Northern Hemisphere. And today brings us a Partial Lunar Eclipse, but not at a time when I can see it. (Drat.) Continue reading

Categories: Daily Updates | Leave a comment

The Waking Engine by David Edison

The Waking Engine by David Edison

I was lent this debut novel by my son and daughter-in-law; it covers, with a very broad canvas, life and death, and rebirth, in a mix of fantasy and science fiction. I very much enjoyed this book, though I will not claim to understanding all of it (whether that is failure on my part, or the author’s, I have no way of knowing). Continue reading

Categories: Book Reviews | Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress.com.